Welcome Message & Organizing Committee

Message from the Chairman

Welcome to the Mapletree Challenge 2024! Greetings to all aspiring leaders and innovators at Singapore Institute of Technology. 

I am deeply honoured to extend a warm welcome as the newly appointed Chairman of the Mapletree Challenge, an annual event proudly organized by SIT and generously supported by Mapletree Investments Pte Ltd, since its inception in 2018. This exceptional initiative has been instrumental in nurturing the personal leadership and entrepreneurial prowess of our students, providing them with invaluable opportunities for growth and development.

As we step into the exciting realm of Mapletree Challenge 2024, our primary goal remains unchanged: to empower our students to think critically, innovate passionately, and address the pressing challenges of our time. The world is undergoing profound transformations, and sustainability has become a paramount concern. In the face of these global challenges, we are once again dedicating our focus to the theme of Sustainability and Innovation.

Through this challenge, we aim to harness the creative potential within each of you to make a tangible impact on the sustainability landscape. Your ideas and innovations hold the key to shaping a brighter and more sustainable future for Singapore and the entire world. It is our collective responsibility to drive positive change, and the Mapletree Challenge serves as the perfect platform for you to do just that.

In the coming months, you can look forward to a series of engaging and enriching activities that will challenge your creativity, enhance your problem-solving skills, and ultimately, equip you with the tools needed to be successful change-makers. The Mapletree Challenge is more than just a competition; it is a transformative experience that will stay with you long after the event concludes.

I eagerly anticipate your active participation and contributions, as we embark on this journey together towards a more sustainable and innovative future. The Mapletree Challenge 2024 promises to be a captivating adventure filled with learning, growth, and camaraderie.

Thank you for being part of this exciting endeavour. I look forward to witnessing your brilliance and dedication in action. Let's make this year's Mapletree Challenge an unforgettable and impactful experience for all.

Warm regards,

A/Prof Dr Michael Alexander Kruesi
Chairman, Mapletree Challenge 2024 
Business, Communication and Design Cluster 
Singapore Institute of Technology 

Message from Mapletree Challenge Student EXCO President

Dear Students,

I am Kee Yee, your current president of the Mapletree Challenge 2024 student committee. A final year student pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Power Engineering, I have been deeply involved in the realm of sustainability and innovation. As an Energy Ambassador from 2021 to 2023, I've had the privilege of championing sustainability causes and participating in various competitions, earning recognition through multiple awards. Now, as the leader of the Mapletree Challenge 2024, I am excited to inspire and guide our student community toward embracing entrepreneurship with a strong focus on sustainable goals. I draw inspiration from the legendary Kobe Bryant, whose leadership qualities have shaped my own journey and taught me that I have to constantly try to be the better version of myself. Together, let's embark on a path of innovation, sustainability, and collective success.

Tan Kee Yee
Mapletree Challenge 2024 Student Committee

About Mapletree Challenge Student Executive Committee

The Mapletree Challenge Student Executive Committee (EXCO) was convened in November 2023 to lead and organise the Mapletree events and activities with guidance from the Mapletree Challenge Advisory Committee. With the programme being student-led, we hope to encourage greater student participation and develop student leadership.

Tan Kee Yee

Li Hao Wei

Vivian Tay
Vice President (Programmes)

Jay Chin Yang
Vice President (Operations)

Tan Hao Jun Bryan

Cheryl Chua
Publicity Head

Gwene Tan
Creative Head

Kacie Tan
Engagement Head

Cheyanne Yap
Programmes Head

Chiam Sheng Jye
Finance Head

Leong Jun Rui
Logistics Head

Kee Han Xiang
Sustainability Head

Rachel Tay
Procurement Head

Marcus Teo
Safety Head