Energy-Industry Scholarship

Fuelled by our growing demand for energy, the Power sector is set to grow significantly over the next 10 years, in tandem with Singapore’s economic growth. From generating the electricity that businesses and industries need, building of Singapore’s first Liquefied Natural Gas Terminal to catalysing energy research such as smart grids – the sector is abuzz with exciting developments.

The Energy Market Authority (EMA) is a statutory board under the Ministry of Trade and Industry.  It was formed in 2001 as part of the government’s efforts to liberalise the electricity market in Singapore.  EMA is the regulator of Singapore’s electricity and natural gas industries. It also serves as the Power System Operator.  In 2009, EMA expanded its mandate to include industry development as one of its core functions.

Sponsoring Organizations

The Power sector organisations offering the EIS are Keppel Infrastructure Holdings Pte Ltd, Sembcorp Industries Ltd, Senoko Energy Pte Ltd, Singapore LNG Corporation Pte Ltd, Singapore Power Ltd, Tuas Power Generation Pte Ltd, and YTL PowerSeraya Pte Ltd.

You may choose which sponsoring organisation you would like to apply to. The sponsoring organisation will contact you if your application has been shortlisted.


  • Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident

  • Achieved outstanding academic results

  • Possess outstanding leadership and communication skills

Scholarship Benefits

  • Tuition Fees

  • One-time allowance (to purchase items related to his or her studies, such as computer and books)

  • Monthly living allowance

  • Overseas Immersion Programme allowance


Scholars will be bonded to their respective sponsoring organizations upon completion of their studies. The bond period will commensurate with the duration of the scholarship on a one-to-one basis.

Application Details  

Application Period: Application for the EIS is open now and will close end-March 2017

Interested applicants may submit their application online here

For more information on the scholarship, please refer to the EMA Website.